A Day In My Life · AmWriting · College

Decisions, Decisions 

Over the course of the last year my life has drastically changed. I moved back in with my mother, started writing more seriously, and begun to think about a career aside from writing. Eventually I want my writing to be my sole income, but that takes time. Sadly, time doesn’t pay the bills. 

As some of you may already know, my goal was to major in biology and go to medical school. That was always my second dream. One being a full time writer. Now, with the way things have changed I don’t think that dream of becoming a doctor will be fulfilled. Money has always been a huge issue for my family, and sadly I can’t work because of SS. I’m hoping the way the money flows will change after my portion starts going directly into my account in April. But even with that, it’s not going to pay college tutition. 

Something else you all may or may not know is that I have spoken to a couple of different recruiters for the military. It’s a nice option with my 88 ASVAB score. Enlisting would allow me to pay my bills, save money, and finance my writing. 

But I keep flip flopping between the two choices. Do I go to college and collect a mountain of debt while barely scrapping by on minimum wage, or join the military and not have a job I’m going to be happy with. It’s very tough for me, because I want to be financially secure, but at the very same time I want to be happy with my job. 

Another pitfall of enlisting would mean I have to lose a lot of weight. Currently I’m 183.6 lbs, and have lost a total of 3.5lbs since speaking with the recruiter earlier this month. To meet requirements I have to be less then 35% body fat or 156lbs. It’s hard to lose that kind of weight, and they want it gone by summer. I’m struggling with what I should do. 

