Book Reviews · Paranormal · romance · vampires

Book Review: A Vampire’s Christmas Carol by Cynthia Eden

Google Play
Kobo
Amazon

Synopsis: 

This holiday season has bite.

Ben Prescott hates Christmas—he’s a vampire, and to him, there’s certainly nothing jolly about the holiday season. While the humans are running around being merry, he’s hunting in the shadows. Ben plans to spend the holidays his way…by stalking deadly prey.
But fate has other plans for Ben.
Three visitors are coming Ben’s way…A demon who will force Ben to face his past, a ghost who will show Ben the present he could have, and a shifter who will reveal the darkness that waits in Ben’s future. Unless Ben can change his ways, he may just turn into a real monster, one who can’t be saved by anyone or anything.
‘Tis the season…to be undead.

Ben’s redemption rests in the hands of the one woman he loved and lost—Simone Laurent. If Ben is going to have a chance at being more than just the beast in the darkness, he has to prove himself to the lovely Simone. A very hard task, considering that, once upon a Christmas Eve, Simone died in Ben’s arms…
Warning: This book features one very tortured vampire, a sexy ghost from his past, and hot scenes designed to melt the winter snow. Plenty of action, adult situations, and steamy times are ahead. Happy holidays!

Review:

I know Christmas is over, but I still find myself drawn to those books that are base around the holiday. 

Anyway I do think that the concept behind this book was really good. A vampire in danger of going to hell, gets saved by his long lost love? Yes! I’m a sucker for any paranormal, urban fantasy, romance book that includes vampires. The plot was good in my opinion, I don’t have anything bad to say about it. The detail and descriptions were good, and I could picture everything I was reading. It also included a couple of twists that kept me interested along the way. 

The characters on the other hand, were not my favorite. Well character. Ben, the main vampire of the story, his reactions to each vistor he received were annoying. Like I understand he was pissed, but it could’ve been done differently. It all just seemed the same to me. Like with each visitor he’d act a fool, and I just wasn’t feeling it. 

Something else that I wasn’t a fan of was the use of “SOB.” Like if you’re gonna say it, say it, don’t useabbreviations. I know it’s something small, but for some reason it irked me. 

Rating:

I gave this book a 3 out of 5 stars on Goodreads, and I’m going to stick behind that. I liked the book overall. It was a cute twist on a Christmas classic, and if it’s still free I think you should give it a shot. 

Also if you’d like, check me out on Bloglovin. I just joined and would appreciate it. https://www.bloglovin.com/@sarabeatty

